INEC Declares Kawu Sumaila, 3 other Winners in Kano

Spread the love


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday declared Abdulrahaman Kawu Sumailla, as winner for Kano South Senatorial district.

Prof. Ibrahim Barde of Bayero University Kano (BUK), the Returning Officer, announced Kawu of NNPP as winner of the Feb. 25 Senatorial election after scoring 319,557 votes.

Barde said Kawu defeated his closest contender, Sen.Kabiru Gaya who polled 192,518 votes.

Similarly, the INEC declared Garba Ibrahim Disu, of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) as the winner for Gwale Federal Constituency of the state.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Aliyu Kantudu of BUK, announced the results at Gwale on Monday.

Kantudu said Disu scored 40,282 votes to defeat his closest rival, Abdullahi Lawal of All Progressives Congress (APC), who netted 9,726 votes.

Again, the commission had declared Dankawu Idris of the NNPP as winner of Kumbotso Federal Constituency in the state.

Prof. Abdulkadir Magashi of BUK, the Returning Officer, announced the results in Kumbotso Local Government Area on Monday.

Magaji said Idris scored 36,707 votes, while Manniru Babba Dan Agundi of APC clinched 9,556 votes.

Also, Prof. Garba Galadanchi, of BUK, the Returning Officer for Tarauni Federal Constituency, had declared Muktar Umar of NNPP as a winner of the parliamentary election after scoring 26,273votes.

Galandanchi said Umar defeated Hafiz Mohammed Kawu of APC who scored 15,931 votes. (NAN)

Spread the love